Media Room


For immediate release

Toronto, March 23, 2010 - Hot Docs will present Jan Rofekamp with the 2010 Doc Mogul Award, recognizing an individual who, over the course of her or his career, has made an essential contribution to the creative vitality of the documentary industry, both at home and abroad. Rofekamp will be presented the Doc Mogul Award at a luncheon in his honour, to be held on Tuesday, May 4, at The Sutton Place Hotel’s Stop 33 Rooftop Ballroom (955 Bay Street). The event will be hosted by Hot Docs director of programming, Sean Farnel. Luncheon tickets are available for purchase online at

Jan Rofekamp is president and owner of Films Transit International, one of the world’s leading international distributors of high-profile theatrical feature documentaries. After studying film production at the Dutch Film Academy, Rofekamp co-founded and co-operated film distribution company Fugitive Cinema Holland until 1982, when he founded Films Transit International Inc. He has produced and executive produced dozens of films throughout his career.

Past winners of the Doc Mogul Award include HBO’s Sheila Nevins (2009), BBC’s Nick Fraser (2008) and The Knowledge Network’s Rudy Buttignol (2007).


Hot Docs is North America’s largest documentary festival, conference and market. From April 29 to May 9, 2010, Hot Docs will present an outstanding selection of 170+ documentaries from Canada and around the world to Toronto audiences and international delegates. Hot Docs will also mount a full roster of conference sessions, market events and services for documentary practitioners, including the renowned Toronto Documentary Forum, May 5 and 6, and The Doc Shop.

Hot Docs is proud to include Rogers, Telefilm Canada and documentary as its Presenting Partners, with special support from the Government of Ontario.

Media Contact:
Virginia Kelly
V Kelly & Associates
Phone: 416-466-9799

The Bloor Hot Docs Cinema

Stay in touch

Sign up for the Hot Docs E-bulletin