Hot Docs President Chris McDonald Receives Rogers-DOC Luminary Award

Cm Alethea

On December 1 at the DOC Institute Honours, Hot Docs president Chris McDonald received the Rogers-DOC Luminary Award. Chris was recognized for his pivotal role in support of Canada’s documentary industry and for, as DOC Institute Director Adam Shamoon stated, “his vital role in cementing Canada’s reputation as a frontrunner in documentary.”

Also at the Honours, Alethea Arnaquq-Baril was awarded the DOC Vanguard Award for her forward-thinking approach to the craft. Her film Angry Inuk, a Corus-Hot Docs Funds recipient, premiered at the 2016 Hot Docs Festival where it won the Vimeo On Demand Audience Award and the Canadian Documentary Promotion Award, courtesy of Telefilm Canada.

Congratulations to all the DOC Institute Honours recipients!

All >

Presenting Platinum Partner

  • logo Scotia Wealth Management

Signature Partner

  • logo documentary-Channel

Presenting Partners

  • logo Bell-Media
  • logo Rogers
  • Logo Samsung

Major Supporters

  • logo Celebrate-Ontario
  • logo telefilm