Angry Inuk Wins Vimeo On Demand Audience Award & $25,000 Canadian Documentary Promotion Award

Hd16 Angry Inuk Awards

After the final screening on May 8, audience votes were tallied for the Vimeo On Demand Audience Award. The winner is Angry Inuk (D: Alethea Arnaquq-Baril; Canada), which follows a new tech-savvy generation of Inuit wading into the world of activism, using humour and reason to confront aggressive animal rights vitriol and defend their traditional hunting practices. As the highest rated independently produced feature-length Canadian documentary with a Canadian director, Angry Inuk also wins the Canadian Documentary Promotion Award. The film will receive a $25,000 cash prize, courtesy of Telefilm Canada, to support the marketing and promotion of the film to new Canadian and international audiences.

In second place is The Apology (D: Tiffany Hsiung; Canada), the story of three former “comfort women” who courageously break the silence about their sexual slavery during WWII, and demand a formal apology from a reluctant Japanese government; and third in the audience poll is Spirit Unforgettable (D: Pete McCormack; Canada), the story of Spirit of the West’s frontman John Mann’s battle with early onset Alzheimer’s.

The top 20 audience favourites as determined by audience vote are:

  1. Angry Inuk (D: Alethea Arnaquq-Baril; Canada)
  2. The Apology (D: Tiffany Hsiung; Canada)
  3. Spirit Unforgettable (D: Pete McCormack; Canada)
  4. Hip-Hop Evolution (D: Darby Wheeler; Canada)
  5. When Two Worlds Collide (D: Heidi Brandenburg, Mathew Orzel; Peru)
  6. Life, Animated (D: Roger Ross Williams; USA)
  7. Gleason (D: Clay Tweel; USA)
  8. Mully (D: Scott Haze; USA, Kenya)
  9. Migrant Dreams (D: Min Sook Lee; Canada)
  10. Aida’s Secrets (D: Alon Schwarz, Shaul Schwarz; Israel, USA, Germany, Canada)
  11. Strike a Pose (D: Ester Gould, Reijer Zwaan; Netherlands, Belgium)
  12. Mr. Gaga (D: Tomer Heymann; Israel, Sweden, Netherlands, Germany)
  13. Wizard Mode (D: Nathan Drillot, Jeff Petry; Canada)
  14. Tickled (D: David Farrier, Dylan Reeve; New Zealand)
  15. Tempest Storm (D: Nimisha Mukerji; Canada, Germany, France)
  16. Off the Rails (D: Adam Irving; Canada, USA)
  17. Suited (D: Jason Benjamin; USA)
  18. Gun Runners (D: Anjali Nayar; Canada)
  19. Zimbelism (D: Matt Zimbel, Jean-François Gratton; Canada)
  20. Sonita (D: Rokhsareh Ghaem Maghami; Iran, Germany, Switzerland)

All >

Presenting Platinum Partner

  • logo Scotiabank

Presenting Partners

  • logo Bell-Media
  • logo documentary-Channel
  • logo Rogers
  • Logo Samsung

Major Supporters

  • logo Celebrate-Ontario
  • logo telefilm

Official Airline Partner

  • logo Delta Web