Hd19 Awards Presentation

Festival Awards & Juries

Films in competition include Canadian Spectrum and International Spectrum selections, as well as short and mid-length works.

Academy Awards® Qualifying Festival
Hot Docs is recognized as a qualifying festival for the Academy Awards® in the Documentary Feature and Documentary Short Subject categories.

The winner of Hot Docs’ Best International Feature Documentary Award qualifies for consideration for the Oscar for Documentary Feature, and the winner of Hot Docs’ Best Canadian and International Short Documentary Awards qualify for consideration for the Oscar for Documentary Short Subject without standard theatrical runs, provided the films otherwise comply with the Academy rules.

Hot Docs Awards

During the Festival, Hot Docs presents awards to Canadian and international filmmakers, including those for Festival films in competition and those recognizing emerging and established filmmakers.


Best Canadian Feature Documentary
Sponsored by the Documentary Organization of Canada and Telefilm Canada.

DGC Special Jury Prize – Canadian Feature Documentary
Sponsored by the Directors Guild of Canada and DGC Ontario.

Emerging Canadian Filmmaker Award
Given to a first or second-time Canadian filmmaker with a feature film in the Canadian Spectrum program. Sponsored by Vistek.

Best International Feature Documentary
Supported by the Panicaro Foundation.

Special Jury Prize – International Feature Documentary
Sponsored by A&E.

Emerging International Filmmaker Award
Given to a first or second-time international filmmaker with a feature film in the International Spectrum program.

Best Mid-Length Documentary Award

Betty Youson Award for Best Canadian Short Documentary

Best International Short Documentary Award


Hot Docs Audience Award

Rogers Audience Award for Best Canadian Documentary

Scotiabank Docs For Schools Student Choice Award
Sponsored by Scotiabank.


Hot Docs Outstanding Achievement Award

Hot Docs Focus On Honouree

Don Haig Award
Sponsored by the Don Haig Foundation and Telefilm Canada.

The Lindalee Tracey Award
A $5,000 cash prize courtesy of the Lindalee Tracey Fund, $5,000 in post-production services from Technicolor, and a beautiful hand-blown glass sculpture by Andrew Kuntz, specially commissioned to honour Lindalee.


Hot Docs Al Jazeera Short Pitch
Awarding at least one winner with up to $50,000 USD for a full commission, and the winning project(s) will premiere on the Witness strand across Al Jazeera branded platforms.

first look Pitch Prizes
Awarded to top Hot Docs Forum Pitches as determined by first look program participants.

Corus-Hot Docs Forum Pitch Prize
As voted on by attending international buyers.

Cuban Hat Award
Providing “real cash, no strings attached” support for powerful and unique films, the winner of the Cuban Hat Award receives money raised during the Hot Docs Forum.

All >

Presenting Platinum Partner

  • logo Scotia Wealth Management

Founding Partner

  • logo Rogers

Signature Partner

  • logo CBC Docs

Presenting Partners

  • Logo Crave 2019
  • logo Netflix

Major Supporter

  • logo telefilm