Monique Simard Bnr

Doc Mogul

Awarded annually, Hot Docs’ Doc Mogul Award is given to an individual who, over the course of his or her career, has made an essential contribution to the creative vitality of the documentary industry, both in his or her home country and abroad.

2017 Doc Mogul Award

The 2017 Doc Mogul Award will be presented to Monique Simard, president and CEO of SODEC.

2017 Doc Mogul Luncheon - SOLD OUT
Monday, May 1

About Monique Simard

Monique Simard began her professional career as a negotiator with the Confederation of National Trade Unions. She was appointed first vice-president of the CSN in 1983. She has been commissioner to the Quebec human rights commission, vice-chair of the National Action Committee on the Status of Women, and president of the 1989 Aids Relief Foundation, as well as a board member and leader of countless organizations in the fields of health, technology, social justice and culture. Simard was also an elected member of the Parti Québécois between 1996 and 1998.

In 2008, Simard was appointed the Director General of the National Film Board of Canada’s French program, where she created a film program for young Aboriginal filmmakers, rebuilt the Filmmakers in Residence program, and notably, established the NFB Interactive Platform and participated in making it the first free, worldwide viewing portal. From 1988, Simard and her partner Marcel Simard begin their production company, Virage. It was no question that the films they invested in would be social, political, environmental, gender conscious, and global in scope. Virage would produce over 30 documentaries and win several Gemeaux awards for best documentary.

Simard was a member of the board and is president of the documentary arm of the Association of Quebec Film and Television Producers, she is a member of the Quebec Culture and Communications Investment Fund. She is also founding member and the vice president of the Documentary Observatory, and honorary member of the board of RIDM, and a two-time president of the Board of Directors of the Cinémathèque Québécoise. In 2016, she acted as honorary president of Sunny Side of the Doc.

Past Winners

  • 2016: Iikka Vehkalahti, IV Films Ltd, Rough Cut Service, Dare to Dream Asia
  • 2015: Takahiro Hamano, NHK
  • 2014: Mette Hoffmann Meyer, DR TV
  • 2013: Debra Zimmerman, Women Make Movies
  • 2012: Diane Weyermann, Participant Media
  • 2011: Ally Derks, IDFA
  • 2010: Jan Rofekamp, Films Transit International
  • 2009: Sheila Nevins, HBO
  • 2008: Nick Fraser, BBC
  • 2007: Rudy Buttignol, The Knowledge Network

Recipient Highlights

The award is presented each year at the Doc Mogul luncheon held during the Hot Docs Canadian International Documentary Festival.


All >

Presenting Platinum Partner

  • logo Scotiabank

Presenting Partners

  • logo Bell-Media
  • logo documentary-Channel
  • logo Rogers

Major Supporters

  • logo Celebrate-Ontario
  • Logo Ontario150
  • logo telefilm

Official Airline Partner

  • logo Delta Web