Hd18 Don Haig Fichman Bnr Taku Kumabe

Don Haig Award

Throughout his life, Don Haig gave generously to filmmakers he believed in. He contributed his time, knowledge and resources to helping filmmakers nurture their talents.

The Don Haig Award recipient is decided upon by a jury of independent producers and is given to an outstanding Canadian independent producer with a feature-length film in competition at the Festival. The Award recognizes creative vision and entrepreneurship, as reflected in their body of work and their film in the Festival, as well as a track record of the mentoring emerging Canadian filmmakers.

The Don Haig Award is presented annually.

2020 Don Haig Award Recipient

Bob MooreHot Docs is pleased to announce that Bob Moore, co-president and creative producer of Montreal’s EyeSteelFilm, was named this year’s Don Haig Award recipient. EyeSteelFilm produced Hot Docs 2020 official selections Dope Is Death, Influence, Softie, and Wintopia. Bob will be presented with a $5,000 cash prize, courtesy of the Don Haig Foundation.

As co-president and creative producer at EyeSteelFilm, Bob Moore has produced over 35 feature documentaries since 2008. Together with his talented partners and collaborators, he has been the recipient of over 100 international awards, including Emmys, Cinema Eyes, Golden Horses, Owls, Phoenixes, and a variety of other celebratory animal-themed prizes. Bob also oversees EyeSteelFilm’s dedicated theatrical distribution company and works with artists exploring meaningful interactive storytelling. He’s been the subject of a Producer’s Spotlight at the Cannes Marché du Film, is currently an advisor for the Sundance Creative Producing program, an international advisor to DMZ Docs in South Korea, a mentor for an RIDM/Hot Docs young Quebec Producer’s initiative.

As part of the Award, the recipient can name an emerging female documentary filmmaker to receive a complimentary All-Access Pass for Hot Docs 2021. Bob Moore has chosen Snow (Hnin Ei Hlaing), a Myanmar-based director and producer.

Past Recipients

Past Recipients (Emerging Filmmakers)

All >

Presenting Platinum Partner

  • logo Scotia Wealth Management

Founding Partner

  • logo Rogers

Signature Partner

  • Logo Cbc Gem

Presenting Partners

  • logo Crave
  • logo Netflix

Major Supporters

  • logo telefilm
  • logo tourism_Celebrate-Ontario