Hd18 Lindalee Winners Bnr Taku Kumabe

Lindalee Tracey Award

The Lindalee Tracey Award honours an emerging Canadian filmmaker with a passionate point of view, a strong sense of social justice and joie de vivre.

Lindalee Tracey was an award-winning filmmaker, author, and entertainer, as well as a beloved wife and mother. Through her extensive body of work and indefatigable personality, Lindalee brought great joy to the world. She was passionate about bringing issues of social justice into her work, and championed people who are often ignored, underestimated or forgotten. Equally, she celebrated those who rise above disadvantage.

Lindalee passed away on October 19, 2006, at age 49, after a five-year battle with breast cancer. At the time of her passing, Lindalee’s family, friends and admirers created this award in her honour.

The Lindalee Tracey Award is given annually at the Hot Docs Awards Presentation.

Past Winners

  • 2018: Fazila Amiri and Tim Tracey
  • 2017: Thyrone Tommy
  • 2016: Michael Chen
  • 2015: Yosef Baraki
  • 2014: Madeleine Grant and Matt Johnson
  • 2013: Rodrigo Barriuso and Antoine Bourges
  • 2012: Jasmine Oore
  • 2011: Alexandre Hamel
  • 2010: Philip Lyall and Nimisha Mukerji
  • 2009: Laura Bari and Will Inrig
  • 2008: Elizabeth Lazebnick
  • 2007: Trevor Anderson

The winners receive a $5,000 cash prize courtesy of the Lindalee Tracey Fund, $5,000 in post-production services, and a beautiful hand-blown glass sculpture by Andrew Kuntz, specially commissioned to honour Lindalee.

All >

Presenting Platinum Partner

  • logo Scotia Wealth Management

Founding Partner

  • logo Rogers

Signature Partner

  • logo CBC Docs

Presenting Partners

  • Logo Crave 2019
  • logo Netflix

Major Supporter

  • logo telefilm