Montreal-Based Producer Daniel Cross Named 2017 Don Haig Award Recipient

I Am The Blues 3

Hot Docs is pleased to announce that Montreal-based producer Daniel Cross has been named this year’s recipient of the Don Haig Award. The Award, now in its twelfth year, is presented by the Hot Docs Board of Directors to an outstanding Canadian independent producer with a feature-length film in competition at the Festival, and is selected by a jury of independent producers. The Award recognizes creative vision and entrepreneurship, as reflected in the recipient’s body of work and Festival film, as well as a track record of mentoring emerging Canadian filmmakers. Cross is the founder of EyeSteelFilm in Montreal, which produced Manic (D: Kalina Bertin), Let There be Light (D: Mila Aung-Thwin, Van Royko), and Tokyo Idols (Kyoko Miyake), all part of this year’s Festival. He will be presented with a $10,000 cash prize, courtesy of the Don Haig Foundation and Telefilm Canada, at the Hot Docs Awards Presentation on Friday, May 5.

Daniel Cross is Associate Professor and the Research Chair in Interactive Documentary at the Mel Hoppenheim School of Cinema, Concordia University, in Montreal, QC. He has been inducted into the Provost’s Circle of Distinction and serves on Concordia University’s Board of Governors and The Senate. Cross’ recent film I Am The Blues recently won Best Feature Documentary at the 2017 Canadian Screen Awards. He is president and founder of Montreal-based EyeSteelFilm, which was named by Realscreen magazine as one of the world’s top 100 non-fiction production companies.

As part of the Award, the recipient can name an emerging female documentary filmmaker to receive a $5,000 cash prize, courtesy of Telefilm Canada, and professional development opportunities at the Hot Docs Festival to further her career path. Cross has named Toronto-based filmmaker Kalina Bertin as recipient of this prize.

Past winners of the Don Haig Award include filmmakers Ed Barreveld (2016), Anne Pick (2015), Michael McNamara (2014), Merit Jensen Carr (2013), Mia Donovan (2012), Rama Rau (2011), Philip Lyall and Nimisha Mukerji (2010), Brett Gaylor (2009), Yung Chang (2008), Hubert Davis (2007), and Guylaine Dionne (2006).

Photo from I Am the Blues (D:Daniel Cross)

All >

Presenting Platinum Partner

  • logo Scotiabank

Presenting Partners

  • logo Bell-Media
  • logo documentary-Channel
  • logo Rogers
  • Logo Samsung

Major Supporters

  • logo Celebrate-Ontario
  • logo telefilm

Official Airline Partner

  • logo Delta Web