Ina Fichman Named 2018 Don Haig Award Recipient

Hot Docs is pleased to announce that Montreal-based producer Ina Fichman has been named the 2018 Don Haig Award recipient. The Don Haig Award is presented to an outstanding Canadian independent producer with a feature-length official selection at the Festival, and is selected by a jury of independent producers. The Award recognizes creative vision and entrepreneurship, as reflected in the recipient’s body of work and Festival film, as well as a track record of mentoring emerging Canadian filmmakers. Fichman helms the company Intuitive Pictures, which produced The Oslo Diaries (D: Mor Loushy, Daniel Sivan) and Laila at the Bridge (D: Elizabeth Mirzaei, Gulistan Mirzaei), both featured in this year’s Festival. Fichman will be presented with a $10,000 cash prize, courtesy of the Don Haig Foundation and Telefilm Canada, at the Hot Docs Awards Presentation on Friday, May 4.


p>For 25 years, Ina Fichman has been producing award-winning documentary and fiction films for television and theatrical release, as well as digital projects, and has worked with first time and established directors in Canada and around the world. In recent years, her focus has been creative documentary, with some of her credits including Black Coffee, Undying Love, S&M: Short and Male, Malls R Us, as well as the interactive project and film 100% T-Shirt. In 2014, she completed production on the animated documentary feature The Wanted 18, which had its world premiere at TIFF, and the following year she completed the feature documentary Vita Activa: The Spirit of Hannah Arendt, which had its international premiere at IDFA and won the Best Documentary prize at the Santa Barbara International Film Festival. Intuitive Pictures has also recently produced the interactive website Space Advisor: A Guide to Space Tourism and the mobile app Gift-it-Forward. Upcoming productions include The Unmaking, the feature film Inside Lehmann Brothers and the VR project Once Upon A Sea.


p>Since beginning her career, Ina Fichman has had the opportunity to mentor many filmmakers from Canada and abroad. Many of her mentees have moved on to become accomplished directors, producers and executives. Fichman is one of the founders of Montreal Women in Film (FCTNM) and Women in Film and Television International (WIFTI). She has sat on numerous industry boards, including DOC and Hot Docs, and is currently on the boards of DOC Quebec and the Canadian Film and Media Production Association, a national organization that represents over 600 Canadian producers.


p>Past winners of the Don Haig Award include filmmakers Daniel Cross (2017), Ed Barreveld (2016), Anne Pick (2015), Michael McNamara (2014), Merit Jensen Carr (2013), Mia Donovan (2012), Rama Rau (2011), Philip Lyall and Nimisha Mukerji (2010), Brett Gaylor (2009), Yung Chang (2008), Hubert Davis (2007), and Guylaine Dionne (2006).

All >

Presenting Platinum Partner

  • logo Scotia Wealth Management

Signature Partner

  • logo CBC Docs

Presenting Partners

  • Logo Crave 2019
  • logo Netflix
  • logo Rogers

Major Supporters

  • logo Celebrate-Ontario
  • logo telefilm

Official Airline Partner

  • logo Delta Web