Tony Palmer Receives 2017 Outstanding Achievement Award

The Hot Docs Board of Directors is pleased to announce that it has chosen Tony Palmer as the recipient of its 2017 Outstanding Achievement Award. As part of the honour, Hot Docs will screen a retrospective during the 24th annual Festival, April 27 to May 7, celebrating Palmer’s distinguished career as a director and editor.

Full film lineup announced and tickets available on March 21.

Save now on Festival passes and packages. GET YOURS TODAY

About Tony Palmer

Tony Palmer’s vast filmography consists of over one hundred films; notable documentaries of his include Falls the Shadow, The Beatles & World War II, Margot and Rachmaninoff - The Harvest of Sorrow. His film credits range from early works with The Beatles, Cream, Rory Gallagher and Jimi Hendrix, to famous portraits with and about Walton, Britten, Stravinsky, Maria Callas, André Previn, John Osborne, Leonard Cohen (Bird on a Wire), and Menuhin. Feature films of his include Testimony, starring Ben Kingsley as Shostakovich, and the almost 8-hour movie on Wagner, starring Richard Burton, Laurence Olivier and Vanessa Redgrave, which was described by the Los Angeles Times as, “one of the most beautiful films ever made.”

Among over 45 international prizes for his work are 14 Gold Medals at the New York Film & Television Festival (the most recent in 2016), awards from the Jerusalem, San Francisco, São Paolo, Chicago, Sofia, Cuenca and London Film Festivals, as well as numerous BAFTA, Emmy, and Grierson nominations and awards. In 1989 the National Film Theatre in London staged a major retrospective of his work. He is also a prize-winning opera director with work including the Golden Mask in Moscow, is the recipient of three Platinum and two Gold records, and was awarded a SONY Prize as a radio presenter. In 2014 Palmer was nominated for the Glenn Gould International Prize, unprecedented for a documentary filmmaker, and in 2016 was awarded the Gold Medal of St. Simeon from the Bulgarian Ministry of Culture for services to Bulgarian culture. He is also honorary Professor of East European Cultural Studies at Lesya Ukrainka University at Lutsk in the Ukraine.

Past recipients and Hot Docs guests include Steve James (2016), Patricio Guzmán (2015), Adam Curtis (2014), Les Blank (2013), Michel Brault (2012), Terence Macartney-Filgate (2011), Kim Longinotto (2010), Alanis Obomsawin (2009), Richard Leacock (2008), Heddy Honigmann (2007), Werner Herzog (2006), Errol Morris (2005), Michael Maclear (2004), Nick Broomfield (2003), Frederick Wiseman (2002), D. A. Pennebaker and Chris Hegedus (2000) and Albert Maysles (1999).

All >

Presenting Platinum Partner

  • logo Scotia Wealth Management

Signature Partner

  • logo CBC Docs

Presenting Partners

  • Logo Crave 2019
  • logo Netflix
  • logo Rogers

Major Supporters

  • logo Celebrate-Ontario
  • logo telefilm

Official Airline Partner

  • logo Delta Web